UCI Law Research Guides: Election Law: Treatises and Texts

Other Resources

Books in print

Note that some of these titles are at Langson Library.

America at the Polls by Alice V. McGillivray et al.
Call Number: (Langson) JK 524 .A73
Divided into two separate titles covering 1920-1992 and 1960-2004, respectively, provides statistics on American presidential elections returns.
America Votes by CQ Press
Call Number: (Langson) JK 1967 A8
This reference work includes official, state-certified election returns and key data by county and by district for the House, Senate, and gubernatorial elections for the annual election cycle.
Exploring Initiative and Referendum Law by Beth Williams, ed.
Call Number: KF 241 .E54 W55 2009
Published as a special issue of Legal Reference Services Quarterly, this text offers legal researchers an easy-to-use guide that provides thorough overviews of initiative and referendum laws within twenty-three states.
The Initiative and Referendum Almanac by M. Dane Waters
Call Number: (Langson) KF 4881 .A4 2003
A complete history of the initiative and referendum process in the U.S., this text provides definitions of initiative and referendum, the roots of the initiative and referendum movement, the history of how the process has been used, regulations of the initiative process in each state, legislative attempts to regulate the process, and the role of the judiciary.
The Realists' Guide to Redistricting by J. Gerald Hebert et al.
Call Number: KF 4905 .R39 2010
A succinct text by some of the leading practitioners in this area. The book covers the fundamentals of redistricting law and identifies potential legal pitfalls.
Vital Statistics on American Politics by CQ Press
Call Number: JK 274 V582
Provides over 230 tables and figures in chapters devoted to elections and political parties, public opinion and voting, the media, the three branches of U.S. government, foreign, military, and social and economic policy.

Online Resources

Including: online journals, PDF versions of books, maps, and statistics.

The Almanac of American Politics
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online only
Profiles every senator, representative and governor, as well as the people and politics of every state and congressional district. Also provides interest group ratings, census data, key votes, campaign expenditures, and election results.
Corporate Political Activities : Complying with Campaign Finance, Lobbying, & Ethics Laws by Practising Law Institute
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF 1386 .P65 C67
A compilation of handouts from an annual CLE, this PLI corporate law and practice course handbook includes overviews of PACs, federal and state lobbying laws, HLOGA, federal and state campaign laws, criminal enforcement of election laws, and several helpful charts comparing state and federal laws.
Election Law Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online only
The first issue of this leading journal was published after the controversial Florida elections in 2000. Coverage includes legislation and litigation related to elections, challenges to the constitutionality of campaign finance laws, and efforts to change the rules for the selection of the U.S. President. (See also RSS feed on News tab.)
Electoral Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: (Langson) JF 1001 E43 / current issues online only
An international journal covering voting behavior, rational choice analysis of political acts, the properties of electoral systems, and work in game theory, political economy, or social choice relevant to elections. Also provides coverage of national elections and referendums in its 'Notes on Recent Elections' and 'National Elections: the cycle of elections' features. (See also RSS feed on News tab.)
Lobbying, PACs, & Campaign Finance : 50-State Handbook
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Online only
Reference guide on the regulations and laws covering campaign contributions and proper contact with elected officials in each of the fifty states and the federal government. Each state and the federal government has its own chapter.
Redistricting Litigation : An Overview of Legal, Statistical, and Case-Management Issues by Bruce M. Clarke
Call Number: Online only
Authored by the Federal Judicial Center, this monograph provides an introduction to the field of redistricting litigation in three chapters: the law of redistricting, evidence of racially polarized voting, and some of the major case-management challenges presented by redistricting cases.

Treatises on Election Law

There is no major, multi-volume treatise specific to election law. However, election issues are addressed in:

Federal Procedure. Chapter 28 is "Elections and Elective Franchise."
West's Federal Administrative Practice. Part 22, "Civil Rights," includes Chapter 148 entitled, "Voting Rights."

America Votes!: Challenges to Modern Election Law and Voting Rights. 3rd ed. by Benjamin E. Griffith, editor
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF 4886 .A86 2016
Election Law Primer for Corporations. 6th ed. by Jan Witold Baran
Call Number: KF 4886 .B37 2015
Federal Procedure, Lawyer's Edition
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF 8835 .F43
Multi-volume.
Law and Election Politics: the Rules of the Game. 2nd ed. by Matthew J. Streb, editor
Call Number: KF 4886 .L39 2013
West's Federal Administrative Practice
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF 8840 .W47
Multi-volume.