Career directories and databases provided by the Law Library. A companion to the resources and databases provided by the Career Development Office.
Last Updated: Nov 5, 2014
- Career Guides from the CDO
These guides and presentation materials provide guidance and helpful tips for seeking legal employment.
- Databases and Websites from the CDO
Grouped by type of employment.
- Books in the CDO
List of books grouped into the following categories: alternative careers; corporate/business law; etiquette and professionalism; firms; job searching; interviewing; judicial clerkships; networking; public interest; resolving problems in the profession; small firms; solo practice; specialized resources for women; LGBT; and minority students and attorneys; specialties/practice areas; and other resources.
The Law Library has books on many types of legal careers and subject specialties including judicial clerkships, public interest, solo practice, law firms, legal academia, and corporate counsel. You can find the majority of these books by browsing the call number range KF297-300 in the Reading Room or searching the ANTPAC catalog. Highlights include:
- ANTPAC search for career guides
- ANTPAC search for clerkship resources
- The Official Guide to Legal Specialties: An Insider's Guide to Every Major Practice Area, by Abrams
Reading Room KF279 .A758. Single volume.
- Fifty Unique Legal Paths: How to Find the Right Job, by Furi-Perry
Law Library Reading Room KF297 .F87. Single volume.
- The Comprehensive Fellowship Guide, by PSLawNet
Reading Room KF266 .C65. Single volume.
- Judicial Clerkships: A Bibliography, by Dunnewold et al.
Published in volume 8 of Legal Communication & Rhetoric, the bibliography is divided into sections including general clerkship resources, court guides/directories, the application process, the clerk’s role, the judge’s role, and judicial writing.
- ALM Legal Intelligence
Law firm reports providing in-depth detailed business and financial information on individual firms, in addition to surveys, lists, and rankings from ALM Media publications such as The American Lawyer, Corporate Counsel, and The National Law Journal. Includes the Summer Associate Survey.
- Leadership Law Premium
Directory and organizational information for law firms, lobbying firms, lawyers, and federal and state courts (including law clerks). Build lists of attorneys and judges according to specified criteria, or browse and explore by organization, law school, or legal specialty.
Complete interactive career help tutorials on using Martindale.com to job search and network, and using resources on Lexis to prepare for interviews.
Complete an online tutorial covering research skills and resources on Westlaw for networking and interviewing. Westlaw includes the West Legal Directory and Westlaw Profiler.