Skip to Main Content

Core Clinics at UCI Law

Sources and starting points for law students.

Highlighted Sources - CED Clinic

Major Treatises

Note: Many titles on the lists below have detailed guidance on forming businesses in California.

California Transportation Law: A Guide to Federal, State, and Regional Requirements by Jeremy G. March
Call Number: Clinic Collection, KFC 469 .M37

Detailed table of contents: solano.com/pdf/TL_TOC_01.pdf

Online resources

California Municipal Codes and Zoning Ordinances - municode.com
Search or browse city municipal codes and zoning ordinances from Municode.
BNA Corporate Practice Center
Corporate Counsel Weekly and Portfolios on corporate topics e.g. selecting a form of business. Portfolio #31-3rd is "The California Corporation: Legal Aspects of Organization and Operation."

NCLC Digital Library
National Consumer Law Center treatises. Covers consumer finance, bankruptcy, credit issues, mortgage servicing, and more.

Mobilehome Parks in California

Mobilehome Parks in California

Background

Mobilehome Park Tenancies & Consumer Rights (PowerPoint slides)
Slides from Practicing Law Institute's 2015 course handbook, California Eviction Defense: Protecting Low-Income Tenants.
Mobilehome Park Rehabilitation and Resident Ownership Program (MPRROP) - hcd.ca.gov
Program overview and forms.
Golden State Manufactured-Home Owners League (GSMOL) - gsmol.org
Resources section includes laws, codes, forms, etc.

Mobilehome Residency Law (Booklet, FAQ, etc.) by California Senate. Select Committee on Manufactured Homes and Communities
Call Number: Online only

Publication Date: Annual
Department of Housing and Community Development Law & Regulations by California. Department of Housing and Community Development
Call Number: KFC 820.A39 C35

Multi-volume

Treatises & Practice Guides

Miller and Starr California Real Estate. by Miller Starr Regalia
Call Number: Online only

Multi-volume

Volume 11, Chapter 31 of Miller & Starr has in-depth coverage of mobilehome law, including landlord-tenant issues.

Rutter California Practice Guide : Landlord-Tenant by Terry B. Friedman, et al.
Call Number: KFC 145 .C357

Multi-volume
Matthew Bender Practice Guide : California Landlord-tenant Litigation : Rights & Duties, Eviction, Damages, Rent Control by Andrew E. Westley & Michael J. Saltz
Call Number: KFC 145 .W471
California Landlord-Tenant Practice
Call Number: Online only

CEB Practice Book

Tax Exempt Organizations

Tax Exempt Organizations

Background

For more on federal tax research, see our Tax Legal Research Guide.

Georgetown Law Library, "Tax Reference Chart"
References to tax materials and definitions of standard tax jargon.

Understanding Nonprofit and Tax Exempt Organizations. 2nd ed. by Nicholas P. Cafardi & Jaclyn F Cherry
Call Number: (Reserves) KF 6449 .C345 2012

Treatises & Practice Guides

Mertens is frequenty identified as the tax treatise that's most cited by courts.

Advising Nonprofit Organizations 2015 by Pamela A. Mann
Call Number: Online only

PLI Course Handbook

BNA Estate, Gifts and Trust Portfolios
Treatise-like explanation and analysis of tax issues. Portfolio #450 covers organizational requirements of tax-exempt organizations. Portfolio #451 covers operational requirements.

The Law of Federal Income Taxation by Jacob Mertens
Call Number: Online only
Taxation of Exempt Organizations by Frances R. Hill & Douglas M. Mancino
Call Number: Online only

A Warren, Gorham & Lamont (WG&L) treatise

Primary Materials & Databases

IRS Exemption Rulings
Determination letters from the IRS to individual applicants either denying or recognizing tax exempt status.

VitalLaw
Federal tax primary materials, plus tax looseleaf service Standard Federal Income Tax Reporter.
Checkpoint
Specialty tax database with primary materials, plus Federal Tax Coordinator, U.S. Tax Reporter, and many authoritative tax treatises.

Last Updated: Oct 22, 2025 4:20 PM
URL: https://libguides.law.uci.edu/clinics
Print Page

Subjects: Appellate Advocacy, Clinics, Environmental Law, Immigration