UCI Law Research Guides: Core Clinics at UCI Law: Immigrant Rights

Training Slides

Check the shelves for immigration law at KF 4800 - 4850

AILALink
Books, newsletters, and forms from the American Immigration Lawyers Association. Includes the popular Kurzban’s Immigration Law Sourcebook. Also related primary materials like essential statutes and regulations, government manuals, and agency memos and letters.
Restricted to UCI Law community members. Law VPN required. Limited to 15 concurrent users.

Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook: A Comprehensive Outline and Reference Tool by Ira J. Kurzban
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF 4819.85 K87
Go-to immigration legal reference resource. When you're not sure where to go, start with Kurzban's.

UC Library Search: "American Immigration Lawyers Association"
Find reputable print and electronic immigration practice guides published by AILA. Noteworthy titles include: AILA's Asylum Primer, Immigration Consequences of Criminal Activity, Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook, and The Waivers Book.

Immigrant Legal Resource Center: Areas of Expertise
Guidance and resources on current immigration issues from ILRC attorneys. These timely resources are regularly added and searchable from the Areas of Expertise section, but other sections of the website may also be of interest.
UC Library Search: "Immigrant Legal Resource Center"
Find reputable practice guides and manuals written by ILRC staff attorneys on a variety of specific immigration topics. Noteworthy titles include: Removal Defense, A Guide for Immigration Advocates, Defending Immigrants in the Ninth Circuit, Essentials of Asylum Law, Inadmissibility & Deportability, FOIA Requests and Other Background Checks, LGBTQ Immigration,, and The U Visa. For the most current guidance, visit the ILRC's website at ilrc.org

Ninth Circuit Immigration Outline - ca9.uscourts.gov
Prepared by the Office of Staff Attorneys, the Immigration Outline "synthesizes procedural and substantive principles relating to immigration law in the Ninth Circuit and covers the following topics: jurisdiction, standards of review, relief from removal (e.g. asylum, cancellation of removal, adjustment of status), motions to reopen or reconsider, criminal issues, due process, and attorney fees."
Immigration Court Practice Manual - justice.gov
Prepared by the Office of the Chief Immigration Judge, part of the Executive Office for Immigration Review at the U.S. Department of Justice.

Immigration Law & Policy Library - HeinOnline.org
Includes BIA Precedent Decisions (with an index), legislative histories, law and policy titles, extradition titles, scholarly articles, an extensive bibliography, and other related works.

Georgetown Law Library, CALS Asylum Case Research Guide: Best Places to Start
Excellent research guide providing lists of resources for all manner of country conditions research.
Law Library of Congress, Guide to Law Online
Links to primary and secondary sources organized by county. "General Sources" heading for each country links to reports from the CIA, Department of State, United Nations, and Amnesty International.
Human Rights Watch, Reports
UC Law SF, Center for Gender & Refugee Studies, Technical Assistance Program
Create an account to access such materials as practice advisories, country conditions reports, and expert declarations to assist in representing women, children, LGBT, and other asylum seekers in court. Creating an account also grants access to the Expert Witness Search.
Expert Witness Materials
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Lexis and Westlaw each offer a searchable database of selective expert witness reports, transcripts, profiles, resumes, and more.

Foreign Law Research
by Jessica Pierucci Last Updated Mar 7, 2024 139 views this year

Search & Seizure: A Treatise on the Fourth Amendment by Wayne R. LaFave
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: KF9630 .L26 2012
Multi-volume

Immigrant Legal Resource Center - Crimes
The ILRC regularly adds timely resources on topics at the intersection of criminal and immigration law to its website.

Check the shelves for labor & employment law at KF 3301 - 3580 and KFC 556 - 587

California Workers' Rights: A Manual of Job Rights, Protections and Remedies. 5th ed. by David A. Rosenfeld et al.
Call Number: KFC 556 .R67
Representing the Pro Bono Client: Advocacy Skills for Administrative Hearings
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: Annual PLI Course Handbook (Select latest edition)
Two chapters focus on the substance and procedure of adjudicating wage claims with the California Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE).

Bloomberg Law Labor & Employment Law Practice Center
- This link opens in a new window
News, analysis, and primary law. Key resources include the Daily Labor Report and the Wage and Hours Manual.
Westlaw Practical Law: Labor & Employment
Includes practice notes, checklists, and standard documents.
Lexis Practical Guidance - Labor & Employment
- This link opens in a new window
News from Law360, checklists, drafting guidance, state law comparison tools, and other practice-focused secondary material.