Covers U.S. elections, including campaign finance, voting rights, and election administration.
Last Updated: Nov 8, 2012
- C.J.S. Elections
- Am. Jur. 2d Elections
- Cal. Jur. Elections
Study aids and CALI lessons on election law are not currently available.
Election law covers a wide array of topics, including political spending, voting rights, ballot propositions, redistricting, gerrymandering, and campaign finance. Useful secondary materials include legal resources as well as interdisciplinary sources in the areas of political science, history, and public policy.
- Election Law: Cases and Materials
By Daniel Hays Lowenstein, Richard L. Hasen & Dan Tokaji. Coverage includes the right to vote, ballot propositions, bribery, regulation of campaign speech, and term limits. Additional casebooks available from Lexis
- Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections
Provides comprehensive treatment and information about America's electoral political parties, presidential, congressional and gubernatorial elections, and their historical development.
- Cases: Jurisdiction
Matters arising out of federal election issues generally fall under the jurisdiction of the federal district courts. See Wright & Miller, Fed. Prac. & Proc. § 3576.
- Federal Election Campaign Financing Guide (CCH)
Looseleaf on law governing political campaign contributions under the Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971. Includes the full-text of FEC regulations and explanations, advisory opinions, and FEC compliance forms and campaign guides.
- Money & Politics Report (BNA)
Provides daily coverage of campaign finance reform, new lobbying regulations, and government ethics issues at federal, state, and local levels. Online daily newsletter available.
- Regulations: 11 C.F.R.
Title 11 of the Code of Federal Regulations covers Federal Elections. Chapter I addresses the Federal Election Commission; chapter II addresses the Election Assistance Commission.
- Statutes: U.S.C.
Federal election laws are found in several titles and chapters of the U.S. Code. The FEC website provides a compilation of federal election campaign laws. Examples: Title 2, Chapter 14 of the U.S. Code covers Federal Election Campaigns; the Voting Rights Act is found at 42 U.S.C. 1973 et seq.
Reference Desk: (949) 824-6746
Join the Election Law mailing list for general discussion of issues related to election law and the design and reform of electoral institutions. The list managers are Daniel Lowenstein of UCLA Law School and Rick Hasen of UC Irvine School of Law.