Career Planning Resources

This site provides a thorough snapshot of biglaw firms and individual offices (including detailed breakdowns of practice areas). Firm Prospects allows you to much more easily and quickly deep dive into law firms and offices. It also includes attrition data, attorney (and alumni) contact information, and information on firm clients.

Vault provides a number of rankings for mid- to large-sized firms. The Vault 100 rankings are based on peer attorney surveys. The Best Law Firms to Work For rankings are based on surveys of how associates feel about their employers. Vault also provides rankings for diversity and by practice area and region.

U.S. News & World Report, in conjunction with Best Lawyers, ranks nearly 12,000 firms in 74 national practice areas and 120 metropolitan practice areas.

The Chambers Guides list the top lawyers and law firms around the world in 12 guidebooks (FinTech, Global, USA, UK, UK Bar, Europe, Asia-Pacific, Latin America, Canada, High Net Worth, Life Sciences, & Litigation Support). Start your search by choosing a Region/Guide, or search by name. Chambers ranks firm practice areas by designating them as “Band 1-6,” with Band 1 ranking highest. There is also a separate set of law firm profiles based on interviews with junior associates at large firms called Chambers Associate.

Contains over 1,000,000 profiles of law firms, branch offices, and biographical records of lawyers from all 50 states, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, the District of Columbia, Canada, England, and Europe.

This directory provides information on law firms’ practice areas and biographies of attorneys in the firm. The directory can be useful in identifying law firms or individual lawyers based on practice area or geographical location.

The National Association for Law Placement (NALP) compiles information provided by employers regarding the size of firms and firm offices, the ratio of partners to associates, associate retention, diversity, compensation, pro bono policies and other information. The directory also includes a Workplace Environment Questionnaire concerning law firm policies regarding maternity/paternity leave, part-time schedules, sexual orientation policies, and pro bono activities. The directory also includes information about which practice areas operate out of which offices.

Search by law firm or individual attorney and see analytics on their practice areas, case outcomes, and motion outcomes.

Search by individual attorney to see cases they've been involved in broken down by practice area and jurisdiction, publications they've written or been featured in, and analytics on case outcomes.

Search by law firm or individual attorney to see their biggest clients, cases they've been involved in, and the areas of law they most frequently practice in. Search by company to see which law firms represent them and what types of cases they have been involved in.

Search by company or law firm to see mergers and acquisitions they have been involved in.

http://tinyurl.com/h77h7nd
An unranked list of the top 150 small and midsize firms based on attorney surveys, interviews, legal publications, and other rankings.

http://tinyurl.com/gl3jpsb
Top 20 midsize firms based on associate surveys.

tinyurl.com/q3mxxsm
Annual list from The National Law Journal highlighting the top 20 firms with between 51 and 150 attorneys. Based on readers' nominations.

Search by city to locate rankings of smaller firms.

Search for firms by practice area and location (e.g. "environmental law near Irvine, CA"), and filter by firm size.

Search by practice area and location, then filter by firm size.

Provides career resources, news articles, networking opportunities, and job listings for aspiring corporate counsel.

A well-respected blog featuring advice, news, job listings, and a directory of general counsel.

Search by company name to access a list of attorneys working in their corporate counsel's office.