It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Foreign Law Research: Cases
Starting points to either collect foreign law sources or conduct in-depth foreign law research.
To find cases when you already have a citation, start by deciphering the citation. Case citations will often take the form:
[volume number or year] [abbreviated publication title] [page number]
Find the complete publication title and jurisdiction of the source using one of the resources below. Cardiff is on the web. If that is unsuccessful, try the print resources or your Bluebook. T2 of the Bluebook provides country-specific guidance and is now available on the web too.
Search for the name or abbreviation of law reports or law periodicals from over 295 jurisdictions worldwide to find information about the publication and its jurisdiction. Knowing the full name of the publication and relevant country can help you locate the law report or periodical online or in a library catalog.
Once you know where the case is printed, find the publication or a database containing cases from that jurisdiction. Then locate the specific case using your citation. This may be available electronically or only in print.
If you don't find your case through the resources below, search the web for sites containing cases from the relevant jurisdiction (a government website is a likely resource), or use the resources in Where to Begin to find a guide that will help you locate jurisdiction-specific case databases.
Search the law library catalog for the publication name. This will often show you if we have print and/or electronic access to that publication at UCI. If the publication doesn't show up, click the Melvyl link to alternatively run your search across libraries. If you don't find electronic access to a case (try the resources below before requesting), you can request the relevant publication via interlibrary loan.
Legal Information Institutes (LIIs) and other free law websites throughout the world provide free access to legal information under the umbrella of the Free Access to Law Movement (FALM). Find a relevant website for your jursidiction, or search WorldLII, which contains information from many (but not all) LIIs.
The UCI Law Library only has full text access to selected UK cases and legislation in Justis, but for research outside the UK you can choose to search across all Justis' resources, including Australia, New Zealand, Canada, and the Caribbean, and Justis will provide links to other databases with full text. You may discover free access to an item or access to an item from another library database through this resource.
Law of India, including cases (Supreme Court of India, High Courts, tribunals and commission), statutory law, rules and regulations, and some secondary sources. Also some foreign and international law material.
Similar to U.S. legal research, running a keyword search for cases at the start of your research can lead to overwhelming results and it can be hard to sift through them without context. Starting with guides and secondary sources will help you locate key cases, then you can expand your research as you locate the cases and other related cases using the Source Collection guidance. Where to Begin provides information on finding a guide.
Remember, not all countries are common law countries. It's often much trickier to find cases if you're researching a country that doesn't follow the common law tradition.