UCI Law Research Guides: Foreign Law Research: News

News Sources

Stay up-to-date on developments in countries or regions of interest by following the news. Consider creating alerts to receive news in your inbox on a regular basis, or whenever key terms appear in relevant news sources.

Multi-jurisdictional Legal News

Council on Foreign Relations Newsletters
This independent think tank and publisher based in the U.S. provides daily and weekly newsletters on international news developments, and monthly or quarterly newsletters on specific regions and topics.
Law Library of Congress - Global Legal Monitor
This publication covers legal news and developments worldwide. It is updated frequently and draws on information from official national legal publications and reliable press sources.
Jurist - World News
Jurist is a web-based legal news and real-time legal research service powered by over 80 law students at 30 law schools across five continents working under the guidance of professional staff and academic leadership based in Pittsburgh PA, USA.
ABA Journal Blawg Directory: International
Directory of law blogs on all sorts of foreign and international legal topics.
The Diplomat
- This link opens in a new window
The Diplomat is the premier international current-affairs magazine for the Asia-Pacific region.

World Trade Online This link opens in a new window
World and U.S. trade issues from a US perspective. Topics include: NAFTA, China, WTO, Inside U.S. Trade. Includes content from Inside U.S. Trade.

Restricted to UCI Law Library staff; ask Research Librarian for access.

Law.com - Regional Topics
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from a variety of legal news sources, grouped by region. Sign in with Lexis account to create alerts. Foreign regional topics include:

International - Asia and Australasia
International - Africa and Middle East
International - Europe
International - Latin America
International - North America
International - United Kingdom

Tax Notes This link opens in a new window
News and analysis of federal, state, and international tax issues from publisher Tax Analysts. Includes access to the latest international tax news and treaties from across the globe. Sign up for Tax Notes Today International (daily) and Tax Notes International (weekly), to stay up-to-date on international tax topics.
Create a Tax Notes account while on the Law VPN at https://www.taxnotes.com/user/login_by_ip then access from anywhere with your individual login.

Foreign News

International News - Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
Combination database that includes full-text, English-language articles and English-language abstracts for non-English-language sources with news and business information from newspapers, magazines, trade journals, newsletters, and news services.
International By Country - Lexis
- This link opens in a new window
Major International news outlets sorted by country of origin.
International By Region - Lexis
- This link opens in a new window
Major International news outlets sorted by region of origin.
Major Non-U.S. Newspapers - Lexis
- This link opens in a new window
Contains English language newspapers published outside the United States that are listed as a national newspaper in Benn's World Media Directory or one of the top 5% in circulation for the country.
News & Newspapers: International - UCI Libraries
Guide created by the UCI Libraries listing foreign news sources available to the UCI community.