UCI Law Research Guides: Source Collection: Online Materials : Rule 18

Resources for Online Materials

GovInfo.gov

Federal government publications in PDF. Some are authenticated. Coverage generally starts in the 1990s.

HathiTrust Digital Library
Millions of scanned books and journals, digitized from libraries around the world.

HeinOnline - Bluebook Citation Finder
Find a document using the Bluebook citation.

LLMC

LLMC is a collection of global historical, legal, and governmental publications, including primary and secondary sources. Includes federal, state, territorial, indigenous, foreign and international materials, along with topical collections. Updated often.
Create a free account to access additional features such as saved search history, custom bookmarks, and downloading over 50 pages.
Making of Modern Law - US Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978

Records from over 15,000 Supreme Court cases, most without a full opinion.
ProQuest Congressional

Extensive collection of federal legislative history documents, including bills, hearing testimony, congressional records, and CRS reports.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Scanned historical articles from newspapers (including New York Times and Wall Street Journal). Coverage generally ends in the mid-1990s.
Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994

Scanned images of Reports, Documents and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Covers 15th - 103rd Congresses.

Perma.cc
Archiving service for online material: PDF, HTML, etc. Allows approved users to create citation links that will (theoretically) never break.

Bluebook Rules 18.1(a) and 18.2.1(d) have examples of citations with a perma.cc archive link.
Perma.cc is used to take an archival snapshot of a web page and create a permanent link.
The UCI Law Review is a "vesting organization."
Questions? Contact your journal's Research Editors about using perma.cc.

Databases are ok to cite for news sources.

The internet is ok to cite for news sources.