Free Legal Resources on the Internet

This website is a wealth of information about the court and the cases its hears including opinions back to 1991, oral argument audio and transcripts, various case documents, and information about the court and its rules.

A powerful resource for U.S. Supreme Court case information. The case pages date back to October Term 2007 and provide links, where available, to freely available court documents, including briefs, the opinions of the Supreme Court and court below, the docket, the oral argument, SCOTUSblog coverage of the case, and more.

A database of major cases heard by the U.S. Supreme Court, with multimedia resources including digital audio of oral arguments from 1955 to the present.

For those looking to analyze court data, this database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the U.S. Supreme Court between the 1791 and present terms, allowing a wide variety of analysis of these decisions.

This resource provides opinions and other transactions from the United States Supreme Court, beginning with its first session in 1790. The first four volumes also cover lower federal courts sitting in Pennsylvania and various Pennsylvania state courts.

This resource, maintained by Cornell Law School, contains Supreme Court opinions, links to briefs on the ABA's website, and links to oral arguments on the Oyez website.

Get the Law > Supreme Court

RECAP is PACER backwards. PACER is a fee-based repository of federal courts' dockets. RECAP is a response to this fee-based system from the Free Law Project. It uses a browser plugin to copy files that PACER users pay for, and then makes them available to others for free in the RECAP Archive.

This resource contains published opinions of U.S. state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950, U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923 and U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1791.

Once you open Google Scholar, select "Case law," and either search the whole body of available cases or use the options provided to narrow your search to a particular court or group of courts. Access advanced search options from the three lines at the top left of the page.

Click through get the law > law by jurisdiction > state or federal law to locate court websites.

This website has cases from various courts, legal directories, and topical legal information and forms.

Similar to FindLaw in content, this website has cases from various courts, legal directories, and topical legal information and forms.

This resource maintained by the American Association of Law Libraries provides links to and information about free online resources for accessing each states' laws.

This resource includes cases from the U.S. Supreme Court and Courts of Appeals, cases from all 50 states back to 1997, federal statutory law and codes from all 50 states, regulations, court rules, constitutions, and more.

Georgetown Law Library

University of Minnesota Law Library