Free Legal Resources on the Internet

The Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the United States House of Representatives publishes the United States Code and makes it browsable and searchable on this site. Use the Advanced Search option to search the current version of the code or versions of the code from 1994, 2000, 2006, and 2012, along with other advanced search options.

Choose Category > Bills and Statutes > U.S. Code to browse the United States Code (U.S.C.) on this U.S. Government Publishing Office site. Alternatively, use the search options to search for particular sections.

The official website of the U.S. Congress provides searchable federal legislative information, including all the bills currently in Congress and bills from past sessions of Congress. Use the advanced search option to search within a specific session of Congress.

The Congress.gov website provides detailed information on coverage of different types of legislation available on the website.

Find and track bills before the U.S. Congress. Information is primarily pulled from government websites. Also provides information about current and former members of Congress.

Links to legislative history compilations for a wide array of federal laws.

Digitized versions of the first 18 volumes of the Statutes at Large series covering 1789-1875. This resource is maintained by the Library of Congress' American Memory Project.

Choose Category > Bills and Statutes > Statutes at Large to browse the Statutes at Large on this government website. Alternatively, use the search options to search for particular components.

This page is maintained by the Legislative Counsel of California and includes bill information, available legislative history, and the California codes.

This government website provides information about state government topics in California.

This government website provides additional information about California government topics.

The California Legislative Counsel prepared this guide to locating California legislative information. The guide includes a helpful glossary of legislative terms.

The National Conference of State Legislatures maintains this database of information from the home pages and websites of the fifty state legislatures, the District of Columbia and the Territories.

This resource includes listings by jurisdiction to help you locate government websites housing state statutes, bills, etc.

This resource maintained by the American Association of Law Libraries provides links to and information about free online resources for accessing each states' laws.

Register for a free account to search for bills and legislators across the U.S. Results include links to free places to access the bills.

Text of the constitutions for each U.S. state, plus additional information and analysis for selected states. (Constitutions, not statutes.)

You can conveniently locate a local government webpage through this website. Either search for the county, city, etc. in the top search box or browse by clicking on a state. Although the layout will be different on each website, the local government's codes are usually prominently featured.

Municode is one of a few publishers of local (county, city, etc.) codes. Instead of starting your search at Municode or other code publisher websites, however, you might want to start at a local government website as you may be able to learn additional information about the codes, such as proposed amendments, then follow links to the code at Municode or another similar website.

Harvard Law Library

UCLA Law Library